Home Darts Victoria UK Open Darts Amateur Qualifier – 21st January ’18 Report

Victoria UK Open Darts Amateur Qualifier – 21st January ’18 Report


Joe Davis and Michael Burgoine came through a record field of nearly 200 darts players at Rileys Victoria to book their places at the UK Open on Sunday.

A record 193 entrants toed the oche on Sunday, a record field for a Rileys UK Open amateur qualifying tournament. Players from as far afield as Didcot, Farnborough, Swindon and Bristol had traveled to the venue in a bid to secure one of the two qualifying spots available on the day. The record field was in spite of the Q-School and County fixtures taking place on the same day.

Sussex based Davis is no stranger to the UK Open having qualified for Butlins Minehead through the PDC Qualifiers 12 months ago. One run to the last 32 secured his spot that time round, with wins over Barry Lynn, Jamie Caven and Kai Fan Leung being enough to reach the Finals. He would finish 37th on the Youth Tour Order of Merit and played in the World Youth Championship in the autumn as a result. Perhaps interestingly, he was just two places ahead of Rileys Greenock qualifier Andrew Davidson who also qualified on Saturday. Davis also reached the semi-final of a Challenge Tour event back in November and reached the Final of the Malta Open the same month.

Davis kicked off his campaign with a 4-1 over Matthew O’Donoghue before being pushed to a final leg decider by Declan Cox in the L128. He would only drop another two legs in his final five games however. Whitewashing Dan Cross and London Super League player John Hind, before winning his board final 4-1 against former World Masters competitor Francesco Raschini. A further whitewash over Didcot’s Roger Crook would follow to setup a clash with London’s Jason Gallagher in the qualification finale. Gallagher, who is flying high in the London Super League rankings for the season, was fresh from representing London’s B team the previous day.

Davis proved too strong however, and would triumph 5-1.

The Sussex youngster will be hoping to improve on his outing in the tournament last year, where he was edged out 6-4 by Ross Twell in the second round after defeating Paul Harvey in his opener.

Michael “Burger Boy” Burgoine reached his third UK Open, his first appearance at the event in five years. The Buckinghamshire player, was originally scheduled to play for his County in Wales, but the gamble paid off with seven wins to his name to win through.

After a whitewash of Gavin Arend, he overcame three times World Masters competitor Sandor Farkas 4-2. He dropped one leg against former Mill Rythe Festival winner John Jenkinson, before a crunch last 32 clash against UK Open ever present Alex Roy.

Roy, who is one of six players who been involved in all 15 previous UK Opens, trailed Burgoine in the early stages of their contest but rallied to force a decider. But it was the Burger Boy who would edge through in arguably the turning point of his tournament. Burgoine then squeezed past PDC Development Tour player Tony Field in a final leg decider, before overcoming Neil Wells and Terry Dunford.

Burgoine has been at the UK Open on two occasions before when it was held in Bolton. He reached the 2nd round on both occasions.

The rest of the field was awash with players who have previously qualified for the UK Open.

Alan Casey (4), Chris Aubrey (3), Brandon Walsh (2), Johnny Haines (10), Lionel Sams (9), Shaun Lovett (1), Mark Cox (7) and Paul Amos (3) all have multiple UK Open appearances between them, but none could add to their tally during a competitive day’s action.

The tournament also featured a face familiar to Lakeside fans in the form of Mackenzie Cadman who fronted the BDO Darts YouTube channel throughout the Lakeside World Championship just recently. But he couldn’t make it beyond the first hurdle.

James Stephenson, who once paired with Rob Cross and won £7 (a story which went viral after Cross’s World Championship win), also missed out in the 1st round.

A worthy mention must go to the organiser Paul Butler who managed the control desk with a calm rigor, and ensured the 193 entrants were eventually whittled down to two within ten hours. An incredible effort. Paul – we salute you!


Qualification Finals

Joe Davis 5-1 Jason Gallagher

(82.2) Michael Burgoine 5-1 Terry Dunford (80.6)


Board Finals

(85.9) Joe Davis 4-0 Roger Crook (64.0)

Jason Gallagher 4-3 Nathan Warren

Michael Burgoine 4-2 Neil Wells

Terry Dunford 4-0 Sean Lahiff


Last 16

Joe Davis 4-1 Francesco Raschini

Roger Crook 4-2 Josh Wise

Nathan Warren 4-3 Callum Francis

Jason Gallagher 4-3 Kirk Deruyter

Michael Burgoine 4-3 Tony Field

Neil Wells 4-3 Craig De Alemeida

Sean Lahiff 4-0 Billy Taylor

Terry Dunford 4-2 Matthew Wood


Last 32

Joe Davis 4-0 John Hind

Francesco Raschini 4-2 Shaun Lovett

Roger Crook 4-2 David Russell

Josh Wise 4-2 Mark Cox

Nathan Warren 4-0 Rob Walters

Callum Francis 4-2 Grant Taylor

Kirk Deruyter 4-3 Robert Fuller

Jason Gallagher 4-2 Stuart Pickles

Tony Field 4-0 Craig Cross

Michael Burgoine 4-3 Alex Roy

Neil Wells 4-1 Richard Harris

Craig De Alemeida 4-1 Brandon Walsh

Sean Lahiff 4-1 Aaron Chapple

Billy Taylor 4-2 Vernon Walsh

Matthew Wood 4-1 Mark Walker

Terry Dunford 4-1 Simon Wood


Other results:

L64 – (80.5) Terry Dunford 4-2 Johnny Haines (80.5)

L64 – (64.5) Brandon Walsh 4-0 Bradley Turrell (52.2)

L128 – (67.3) Francesco Raschini 4-2 John Ross (69.8)

L128 – (62.1) Chris Hogg 4-2 Mark Duggan (48.2)

L256 – (79.1) Alex Roy 4-0 Shane Connor (51.5)

L256 – (58.9) Simon Wood 4-0 Gavin Beeley (50.8)

L256 – (67.0) Robert Watson-Lang 4-1 Brian Johnson (61.7)

L256 – (72.4) Grant Taylor 4-0 Simon Newland (49.7)

To enter the Rileys UK Open Amateur Qualifiers click here for the dates and to enter today!

Matthew Kiernan Multimedia Journalist. Passionate about darts.