Home Darts Rileys Victoria UK Open Darts Amateur Qualifier – 20th January 17 Report (Includes Video)

Rileys Victoria UK Open Darts Amateur Qualifier – 20th January 17 Report (Includes Video)

Rileys Victoria UK Open Darts Amateur Qualifier – 20th January 17 Report (Includes Video)

Lee Evans and Dan Read became the first amateur darts players to book their place at the UK Open at Butlins Minehead in March, having won through a field of 127 players on Friday night at Rileys Victoria.

Lee Evans


Swindon based Evans is no stranger to the big stage, having qualified for the UK Open 12 months ago through the PDC’s Qualifiers in Wigan. He reached the last 64 of the main event itself beating Rowby John Rodriguez before losing out to Jamie Caven.

On Friday night, he overcame Mark Hutchinson 4-0 and Enda Barrett 4-1 in the early rounds before being pushed all the way by Jarred Cole in the last 16.

Arguably his sternest test came in the last eight when he took on Surrey’s Dave Parletti, who is ranked inside the top 50 for the BDO and a two time UK Open qualifier himself. Evans squeezed through 4-3 to set up a final clash with Ireland’s John Herlihy.

He would score heavily against Herlihy averaging 106.5 for his first nine darts, to run out a deserved winner.

Dan Read


21 year-old Dan Read’s decision not go to Q-School to specifically enter the Rileys Qualifiers paid off when he also prevailed on Friday night.

The Thatcham based youngster is sponsored by Unicorn and repaid the faith in his backers with six wins at Rileys Victoria to reach the UK Open for the first time.

Read swept past Anthony Cullis, James Stephenson  and England soft-tip player Tommy Sanwell without dropping a leg in the early stages. He overcame Daniel Sare 4-2 in the last eight, before overcoming Surrey’s Darryl Pilgrim 5-2 in his Final. He averaged just over 77 in doing so, in a closer match that the scoreline suggested.

The Best Of The Rest


The field of 127 comprised of an eclectic mix of County regulars, complete novices and everyone in between.

A plethora of previous UK Open qualifiers tried their hand to reach the Finals again, including Alex Roy and John Scot who were hoping to repeat their achievement of winning through at this venue twelve months ago.


John Scott saw off Dave Cook and Roger Crook before missing out against eventual finalist Darryl Pilgrim.

Alex Roy’s hopes of maintaining his unblemished UK Open appearance record were dashed in the pick of the Last 64 games against Tommy Sanwell. Sanwell, who himself won through at this venue in 2015, averaged over 84 to brush past Roy 4-1 in a tough encounter.


Sanwell also saw off four-time UK Open Qualifier Ben Burton in the last 32 overturning a 3-2 deficit and after surviving a match dart.


Other previous Qualifiers included Aaron Turner (’05,’07,’08,’15) who reached the last 32 and Alan Casey (’08,’12,’14) who bowed out in the last 64. Casey had earlier seen off Steve Mead who reached the UK Open in 2013.

Lionel Sams was a big name casualty in the opening round of the competition with the former World top 16 player bowing out at the first hurdle. Sams did qualify through the Rileys Qualifiers 12 months ago and reached the last 16 of the main event in 2005.

Celebrity Spot

BBC Radio 1’s Chris Stark from the Scott Mills Show was in attendance to cheer on Oli “Sir Dossa” Butler who had entered the tournament. Butler won his 1st round match against Scott Golding before losing out to Pilgrim.


Selected Results


David Read 5-2 Darryl Pilgrim

(88.10) Lee Evans 5-2 John Herlihy (85.00)

Last 8

Dan Read 4-2 Daniel Sare

Darryl Pilgrim 4-0 Andy Blyde

Lee Evans 4-3 Dave Parletti

John Herlihy 4-3 Terry Dunford

Last 16

John Herlihy 4-0 Mike Gillet

Terry Dunford 4-1 Wayne Silk

Lee Evans 4-3 Jarred Cole

Darryl Pilgrim 4-2 John Scott

Andy Blyde 4-3 Gary Miles

Daniel Sare 4-2 Dave Goodchild

Dan Read 4-0 Tommy Sanwell

(92.40) Dave Parletti 4-1 Rob Kiely (85.70)

Last 32

(72.50) Terry Dunford 4-1 Lee O’Neill (63.50)

Wayne Silk 4-1 Peter Stokes

John Herlihy 4-0 Aaron Turner

Mike Gillet 4-1 Steve Jarrold

Andy Blyde 4-3 Jamie Loader

Gary Miles 4-1 Kirk Deruyter

Rob Kiely 4-2 Dion Newman

(92.40) Dave Parletti 4-1 Henry Murphy (79.00)

Darryl Pilgrim 4-0 James Martin

John Scott 4-2 Roger Crook

Daniel Sare 4-1 Graham Harris

Dave Goodchild 4-0 Bradley Turrell

Dan Read 4-0 James Stephenson

(86.30) Tommy Sanwell 4-3 Ben Burton (76.90)

Jarred Cole 4-0 Stuart Pickles

Lee Evans 4-1 Enda Barrett

Last 64

Terry Dunford 4-3 Jack Lucas

Lee O’Neill 4-3 Bard Johnson

Wayne Silk 4-3 James Malcher

Peter Stokes 4-1 Jonathan Creed

John Herlihy 4-1 Gary Court

Aaron Tuner 4-0 John Watt

Mike Gillett 4-1 Malcolm Sare

Steve Jarrold 4-1 Kirk Mackie

Rob Kiely 4-1 Trevor Nash

Dion Newman 4-1 Ben York

Dave Parletti 4-2 James Goddard

Henry Murphy 4-1 Alan Casey

Lee Evans 4-0 Mark Hutchinson

Enda Barrett 4-2 Nicky Jones

Jarred Cole 4-1 Daniel King Morris

Stuart Pickles 4-1 David Sviderszki

Jamie Loader 4-3 Stuart Golding

Andy Blyde 4-1 Matt Leach

Kirk Deruyter 4-1 Matthew Lock

Gary Miles 4-2 Lee Williams

Darryl Pilgrim 4-0 Oli Butler

James Martin 4-2 Danny Hurst

John Scott 4-2 Dave Cook

Roger Crook W/O Stephen Dalton (Dalton Timed Out)

Daniel Sare 4-0 Myles Avery

Graham Harris 4-1 James Shulver

Dave Goodchild 4-2 Dean Adams

Bradley Turrell 4-1 Lawrence Cook

Dan Read 4-0 Anthony Cullis

James Stephenson 4-2 Bruno Boryczka

Ben Burton 4-1 Sid Woolgar

(84.30) Tommy Sanwell 4-1 Alex Roy (71.5)

The Live Updates

Updates from the evening were posted live on Twitter, have a look at this Moment to relive the live action.

Inspired To Take Part?

If you’ve been inspired to enter be sure to have a look at the tournament page to find the remaining qualifying events. Its not too late to enter!



All photos published here are taken by Lamo The Lion Photography. 

Matthew Kiernan Multimedia Journalist. Passionate about darts.